Australian Philanthropy Awards

Australian Philanthropy Awards Nominations 2019

The Australian Philanthropy Awards 2019 will be held at the prestigeous Art Gallery NSW on Monday 22 July. Nominations across the seven categories (see below) will open on Tuesday 2 April and will close on Friday 17 May at 5pm AEDT.

For further information please click here. This page will be continually updated in the lead up to the event.

Celebrating the positive impact of philanthropy.

The Australian Philanthropy Awards recognise and celebrate extraordinary achievements in contemporary philanthropy for work that is visionary, high impact and transformative. 

They also celebrate partnerships between philanthropy and non-profits, honouring the great achievements of those who are working to create lasting and positive change and the impact of our collective community – which could never be achieved alone.


Nominations are welcomed from Philanthropy Australia members and non-members, supporters and friends of our partner organisations. You may not nominate yourself, but you may nominate your organisation.

Please note that current staff and Council of Philanthropy Australia, partner organisations’ Council/Boards and staff, and members of the Australian Philanthropy Awards selection panel are not eligible for nomination.

Award categories

Leading Philanthropisthonours an outstanding philanthropist for their recent significant philanthropic contributions and achievements.

Best Large Granthonours significant achievements in best practice Australian grant-making, celebrating the delivery of a co-designed vision of change by the giver and the doer.

Best Small Granthonours significant achievements in small grant-making and recognises philanthropic excellence amongst Australian organisations and honours their exemplary leadership.

Environmental Philanthropy Award - for current achievements from funding initiatives invested in projects or organisations that specifically support the environment.

Gender-wise Philanthropy Awardfor current achievements from funding initiatives that advance gender equity.

Indigenous Philanthropy Award - for current achievements from funding initiatives that advance Indigenous communities, support culture and promote reconciliation in Australia.

International Philanthropy Awardhonours significant achievements in Australian international philanthropy for grants or impact investment(s) allocated outside of Australia.

Premium content

Philanthropy Australia Members and Associates can log in to the membership portal to access premium content.

Membership options

Ian Bird on Community Foundations

Ian is the President at Community Foundations of Canada (CFC), the national network that connects the country's 191 community foundations